HTML XHTML The Complete Reference
home » reference » appendix c » html 4.0 entities

HTML 4.0 Character Entities

The HTML 4.0 specification introduced a wide array of new character entities that expand the presentation possibilities of HTML, particularly in the presentation of foreign languages. These include additional Latin characters, the Greek alphabet, special spacing characters, arrows, technical symbols, and various shapes. Some of these entities have yet to be supported by browser vendors. Netscape versions 4.0 through 4.73 support only a few of the extended Latin characters, and some entities that duplicate characters already are available in the "standard" list (32 through 255). Internet Explorer versions 4.0 and higher support many of these entities, including the Greek alphabet and mathematical symbols, but does have notable holes. Netscape 6.x/7.x, Opera 7, and Mozilla browsers support pretty much all the entities.

(X)HTML Elements
CSS Properties
< Home | About | Chapters | Examples | Errata | Reference | Site Map >